Chucking some posts up…

I haven’t blogged in a long time but thought I should start to chuck some of the stuff I’m working on out there. I had a bit of a think about what went wrong last time I was blogging and worked out some new things I’ll try this time around ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. ย Keep posts short – blogging != coding time – last time I was blogging I found posts could take a little while to format/gather content for and that meant less coding (which is a bad thing). This time I’ll try to keep the posts smaller so the code can keep flowing.
  2. Trying to keep pace – content can quickly get out of date – especially when you are working on some code that gets picked up/put down over a length of time in anticipation of a post. This time I’m just going to chuck stuff up when its done rather than worrying that it’s not the latest and greatest. In addition to this point when content is lacking rather than keeping the machine going I’ll just give up blogging for a while, do some more coding and then come back when I find something cool ๐Ÿ™‚ This way I can still put out the odd post without trying to dig stuff out of the box.
  3. WordPress! Grrr – The updates and things going missing from the dashboard (like the stats graph for a few weeks) can be really annoying. I’m obviously still on the free WordPress platform so I’ll give it another shot and review over the next few months…
  4. Online storage – obviously not having your own private host can be a bit of a pain when it comes to posting example code etc. I’m looking into some options on this one.
  5. Lack of code formatting support and trying to make the front page still layout correctly (Hmmm – seems to be a common theme here for not just hosting my blog myself ๐Ÿ™‚ ) I can’t find an option to add widgets anywhere but maybe a google will sort this one out – the other option is to not really post code in the post itsself but just chuck an attachment on (I see that has been added to WordPress now) or put on a file download.
  6. Actually getting the post out worts and all plus focus on one short and sweet post at a time! I’m looking at my dashboard now and have around 6 reasonible posts that never even got published since last time I logged in (months ago) – They range from things like the SQL CLR to using DotMSN. I’ll ditch those ones because they obviously aren’t completely finished but from now on I think I’ll limit my use of the draft functionality to keep me on track with my posts.
  7. oops – I’m now going to refer myself to point 1 ๐Ÿ™‚
One Response to “Chucking some posts up…”

  1. Johnny-johnny Says:

    I’m impressed! I’d thought we’d lost you forever to the non-blogging-ness that tends to happen from time to time. Just keep on blogging! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

